Need help with Magic Engine

ROM not loading? Computer crashing? discuss it here

Need help with Magic Engine

Postby Mentat Paradigm on Fri May 30, 2003 5:55 am

I just downloaded Magic Engine v0.99 so that I could finally play Rondo of Blood (aka Dracula X). I downloaded the individual tracks from here. Now for the tricky part: I don't have a CD burner on the PC I'm currently using. Instead, I used the cue file and burned an image, then mounted the image in Daemon Tools. Then, I attempted to play the game in Magic Engine.

However, Magic Engine tells me that the game is not a PCE CD. I edited the PCE.INI file to point to the virtual CD-ROM, but it didn't seem to make any difference. Is there any way I can get Magic Engine to recognize the mounted image without having to physically burn the CD?

Alternatively, if someone could provide me with an ISO or ROM that they know for a fact works with Magic Engine v0.99, I'd love them forever. ;)
Mentat Paradigm
PCB Newbie
PCB Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri May 30, 2003 5:44 am

Postby ivwshane on Fri May 30, 2003 6:40 am

How exactly did you create the iso?

I use fireburner and you have to make sure that the first track is the data track and the rest of the mp3's will go in order from first to last (ie: mp3 track 1 will be track 2 and track 2 will be track 3 and so on).
Image
User avatar
ivwshane
PCB Conqueror
PCB Conqueror
 
Posts: 1973
Joined: Thu May 17, 2001 6:01 am
Location: California U.S.A.

Postby Mentat Paradigm on Fri May 30, 2003 6:56 am

I created the image using Nero. I tried both this cue file and this this one (changing the filenames accordingly, of course).

Fireburner tells me that it doesn't detect my CD drives, for some reason. I presume it's because I don't physically have a burner installed. It won't allow me to even create an image, as far as I can tell.
Mentat Paradigm
PCB Newbie
PCB Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri May 30, 2003 5:44 am

Postby Silverhaze on Fri May 30, 2003 9:17 am

Fireburner did that to me too. Damian helped me out with some ASPI files or something I think.

I prefer Disc Juggler and Easy CD creator for data CDs
Image
For the people who are still alive.
User avatar
Silverhaze
Master Of The Universe
 
Posts: 5195
Joined: Tue May 15, 2001 6:01 am
Location: #obfuscation on efnet (occasionally)

Postby adidas on Fri May 30, 2003 12:55 pm

I downloaded the 'true' (no mp3 crap) bin/cue image from a FTP at RIGG

I burned it and it works great, but I've never tried using anything like Daemon Tools with it.

Hope that helps
User avatar
adidas
PCB Emperor
PCB Emperor
 
Posts: 2641
Joined: Tue May 15, 2001 6:01 am
Location: Cleveland, Ohio

Postby Mentat Paradigm on Fri May 30, 2003 9:35 pm

RIGG seems to have disabled viewing of their board from non-members and isn't allowing new members at the moment. But thanks for the link anyway.
Mentat Paradigm
PCB Newbie
PCB Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri May 30, 2003 5:44 am

Postby adidas on Sat May 31, 2003 1:23 pm

Mentat Paradigm wrote:RIGG seems to have disabled viewing of their board from non-members and isn't allowing new members at the moment. But thanks for the link anyway.


doh! If I remembered any of my details I'd get you a link.
User avatar
adidas
PCB Emperor
PCB Emperor
 
Posts: 2641
Joined: Tue May 15, 2001 6:01 am
Location: Cleveland, Ohio

Postby PASTA POWER on Sat May 31, 2003 8:31 pm

Step 1:Change the extension of the class files to mp3.
Step2:Convert the mp3's to wav's with winamp.
Step3:Unzip the zip files containing the iso's
Step4:Put the iso's and wav's into the same directory.
Step5:Put the *.cue file provided in the same directory.
Step6:Make sure the names of the files agree with those in the cue.
You might need to put double quotation marks around the name of the file in the cue. I can't remember. Use wordpad to edit the cue. If you try using notepad to edit the cue and save it then the cue will lose its format and daemon won't understand it.
Step7:Use daemon to load the cue
Note:If daemon won't load the cue then try adding the quotation marks.
Step8:Edit the magicengine ini to whatever cd-rom drive you like.
I think
D=1
E=2
F=3
G=4 and so on
Step9: Start the emulator
Step10:Go to Boot CD
Step11:Select System Card 3.0. Do not select Magic System 3.0!!!!!

I use fireburner and you have to make sure that the first track is the data track

The first track of a PC-engine game is audio although I think you can do without it. It's just a girl blubbering some bullshit which has nothing to do with the game. It might be some kind of anti-piracy mechanism if you were using the real hardware.
User avatar
PASTA POWER
PCB Resident
PCB Resident
 
Posts: 170
Joined: Fri May 10, 2002 6:01 am


Return to Emulation Woes

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron